In pursuance of decision taken in the Karnataka State Level Bankers Committee meeting held on 28th July, 2010, Syndicate Bank and Vijaya Bank who have Lead Bank responsibility in 10 districts (viz. Udupi, Dakshina Kannada, Uttar Kannada, Ballari, Vijayapura, agalkot, Belagavi, Dharwad, Haveri and Mandya) of the state have jointly sponsored Jnana Jyothi Financial Literacy and Credit Counseling Trust ® with its headquarters at Manipal. Sri D.T. Pai (Former CMD Syndicate Bank & Banking Ombudsman) was heading the Trust. It held its first Board meeting on 2nd October 2010 at Syndicate Bank Head Office.

Jnana Jyothi Financial Literacy and Credit Counseling Trust was formally inaugurated on 20th October 2010 (85th Founder’s day of Syndicate Bank) at Manipal by Dr. V.S. Acharya, Hon’ble Minister for Higher Education, Government of Karnataka. Dr. Ramdas M. Pai, Chancellor, Manipal University was the chief guest. Sri T. Satish U. Pai Chairman, Manipal Media Network Ltd was the guest of honour.

Syndicate Bank, the author bank, has taken a decision to open FLCC Centres in other 18 lead districts in the State of Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Union Territory of Lakshadweep. Accordingly, the Trust has opened 5 centres in Anantapuram, Kadapa, Kurnool, Nellore and Ongole districts of Andhra Pradesh; 2 centres in Kannur and Kasaragod districts of Kerala; 8 centres in Mathura, Meerut, Moradabad, Amroha, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budh Nagar, Baghpat and Hapur districts of Uttar Pradesh, 2 centres in Faridabad and Nuh (Mewat) districts of Haryana and 1 Centre in Kavaratti (Lakshadweep).

As per Reserve Bank of India guidelines, Financial Literacy Centres are to be opened at Tehsil/Block level centres allotted to various Banks by the SLBCs.  Karnataka Bank Ltd and Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank (Regional Rural Bank sponsored by Syndicate Bank) have been granted institutional sponsorship for setting up FLCs at Tehsil/Block headquarters,

The Trust opened following Teshil/Block level FLCs:

Karnataka State: Bantwal, Belthangady, Sullia and Puttur (Dakshina Kannada District), Karkala and Kundapur (Udupi District), Karwar, Sirsi, Siddapur and Bhatkal (Uttara Kannada District), Kundgol (Dharwad District), Maddur and Nagamangala (Mandya District), K.R. Nagar (Mysore District), Yelahanka (Bangaluru North) and K.R. Puram (Bangaluru South), Sorab and Shikaripura (Shivamogga District), Athani, Ramadurg and Raibag (Belagavi District), Kollegal (Chamarajnagar District), Byadgi and Hanagal (Haveri District), Channagiri (Davanagere District), Indi (Vijayapura District), Tiptur (Tumkur District), Malur (Kolar District), Alur, Arsikere and Sakaleshpur (Hassan District), Sringeri (Chikmagalur District), Jamkhandi (Bagalkot District) and Holalkere (Chitradurg District).

Kerala State: Peravoor (Kannur District), Kondotty (Malappuram District), Uzhavoor (Kottayam District), Vazhakulam (Ernakulam District), Kodakara (Thrissur District), Perumkadavila (Thiruvananthapuram District).

Andhra Pradesh State: Vellaturu (Kadapa District), Kalyanadurgam (Ananthapuram District), Adoni (Kurnool District), Naidupet (Nellore District), Kandukur (Prakasam District).

Haryana State: Radaur (Yamunanagar District), Prithla (Palwal District) and Farukhnagar (Gurgaon District).

The Trust had 79 FLCs as on 31 st March 2016.

Vijaya Bank, one of the author Banks, has established a separate Trust, i.e. Vijaya Financial Literacy Trust with its headquarters at Vijaya Bank H.O. Building, M.G. Road Bengaluru. The Vijaya Financial Literacy Trust has taken over the 14 Financial Literacy Centres – Mandya, Haveri, Dharwad, Maddur, Nagamagala, Siddapur, Yelahanka, K.R. Nagar, Sorab, K.R. Puram, Channagiri & Malur in Karnataka State and Peravoor & Kondotty in Kerala State, sponsored by Vijaya Bank with effect from 1 st April, 2016.

The Trust has granted Institutional Sponsorship to Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bank, Dharwad (Regional Rural Bank sponsored by Syndicate Bank) to take over the administration of the following 10 Taluk/Block level FLCs established by them with effect from 1st July 2016: Kalaghatagi (Dharwad District), Bailhongal and Chikodi (Belagavi District), Savanur (Haveri District), Sind agi and Muddebihal (Vijayapura District), Mudhol (Bagalkot Distrtict), Shirahatti (Gadag District), Yellapur and Mundgod (Uttara Kannada District) in the State of Karnataka.

As at the end of July 2016 the Trust is managing 75 Financial Literacy Centres.


Our Founder Chairman cum Managing Trustee

(From 20.10.2010 to 29.09.2014)


Born: 17.01.1942 – Died: 30.09.2014

Late Sri D.T. Pai

[ Former Chairman & Managing Director of Syndicate Bank and

Banking Ombudsman, Reserve Bank of India ]